Brundall is a thriving village set on high ground overlooking the banks of the River Yare and known in the Domesday Book as 'Brundala' meaning 'Broomy Nook'.
The remains of a Roman villa, and traces of pottery, brick, and tile manufacture have been found in the village. With the settlement of the Anglo Saxons, probably complete by the end of the 5th century, the story of Brundall really began. By the time of the Domesday Book in 1086 Brundall had grown into a thriving village. Local remains from the Anglo Saxon period can now be found in Norwich Castle Museum. The Ram public house is possibly the oldest medieval building in the village
Before they grew into one large village, Brundall and Braydeston used to be two small separate communities each with its own parish church. Although the communities merged in 1883, the two churches still survive.
The church of St Laurence dates back to 1250 but additions and extensions have been added to the building since then. The church houses a 13th century lead case font, the only one of its kind in Norfolk.
The mid 15th century church of St Michael, Braydeston is separated from the village in a picturesque setting surrounded by fields. It is probable that the village moved away from the church after the ravages of the Black Death in 1349. Evidence exists that a church predating the current building was built on the site in the Saxon period.
The church is a very simple building with a nave, chancel and square tower housing a single 15th century bell bearing the Latin inscription "Hec fit scorum campa laude bonorum " ("This bell was made to praise the good saints"). It also retains a fireplace and oven used to bake communion bread; one of only three remaining examples in Norfolk.
An attempt by the Bishop of Norwich and the Church Commissioners in 1948 to close the church led to a celebrated legal battle, eventually tried by the Lord Chief Justice in Downing Street. The people of Braydeston won the day and the church retained its status as a parish church.
The riverside at Brundall provide very little opportunity for hire craft to moor as it now consists mainly of chalets and boatyards. Just across the river in Surlingham Broad the skeletons of several wherries can be seen jutting above the water. Only a five minute row from the village the broad offers magnificent fishing.
The main village is set back beyond the railway on a hill overlooking the river. The main street has several shops including a supermarket and garage. A small convenience store is located on the river with limited mooring for people using the shop.
The Yare public house by the Riverside Estate just across the railway lines now boasts a very bijou smoking shelter at the front. Not a flash eatery but a good honest pub where you are very unlikely to be disappointed.
No public Moorings
The Old Beams Restaurant
Emergency Petrol walk to "The St" turn left go past The Ram pub follow road round bend to the right and up to main A47
The Yare Inn
The Ram (in Town)
Businesses in Brundall
Lavender House Restaurant
Handmade In The UK Gift Shop
BK Marine Windows
Norfolk Yacht Centre
Brundall Angling Centre
Alexander Cruisers (Private Moorings only)
Brundall Bay Marine
Buccaneer Boats (Private Moorings only)
Fencraft (Day boats and Private Moorings only)
Freshwater Cruisers (boat maintenance)
Brooms Boatyard photo courtesy of NorfolkNog
The Bishop of Brundall is supposed to haunt Brundall. On the 24th June & 18th September he can be seen on his barge with 28 rowers blessing people as he sails past on the river.